Eric (s)Kim

I know Eric Kim is reviled among many internet people and trolls alike. In the past he even seemed to lead the charge against himself with a video he posted using flash on the streets of Hollywood but you can’t deny the strength of his drive and determination in the face of it.

I personally have no issues with him, though I don’t subscribe to the Workshop thing at $800 a pop but it certainly looks like a productive experience just a bit pricey. His shooting style isn’t as intrusive as others I’ve seen or even shot with myself; I don’t think he’s a bad person and I think that’s what’s important.

Anyway, I follow Eric on Tumblr and every now and then I skim through a few of his articles but today I saw that his latest blog post was about photobooks. I’m a bit photobook daft at the moment so instead of skimming through I dived into the post head first.

I obviously can’t compare the photobooks I’ve recently made with the books he discusses in his post because they’re experiments plus I haven’t actually ‘designed’ any of my books but simply followed provided templates; no folds no fancy schmancy-ness.

Rather than laboriously summaries Eric’s post I recommend you just read it yourself. I thought it was interesting and he links to a few very neat examples of quality bespoke books like Alan Harvey’s “Based on a True Story” which I’d love to own if I could afford it.

Eric’s post is on the back of a lecture he attended with a guy called Bruno Ceschel whom ‘I’ve-never-heard-of-but-I-suppose-I-should-have’ (in a BJP kind of way); he’s some sort of expert on photobooks. Some of the examples Eric uses are video-tours, like the Alan Harvey book, so definitely worth a watch at least.

If you like photobooks give it a read: 11 Tips on Making a Photo Book with Bruno Ceschel.
Ciao

4 thoughts on “Eric (s)Kim

  1. I have seen in your Flickr gallery about your attempts to use a pinhole lens. I have bought a holga pinhole lense for my Lumix mirorless GF1, I have mounted it and tried to use it.

    Unfortunately the camera tells me “Please check that the lens is attached correctly”. The pinhole lens fits perfectly and clicks within the frame. Still I cannot shoot.

    I have set the camera in manual and set the focus into manual too, still doesn’t shoot.
    I have seen in your gallery that you placed the pinhole lens into an a Lumix mirrorless camera.

    What do you need to do to make it shoot? What did you do? I cannot find a way to make it work.
    I hope you can help me.

    Thanks and best regards
    Ernesto Beltran

    Like

    1. Hi Ernesto

      You need to enable your camera to shoot with the lens off and you can do this by configuring the following setting:
      Menu > Custom Menu (the icon with a C and a spanner) > scroll to page 5 of that menu (get there quickly by pressing the up key (marked ‘ISO’) on the d-pad) > and enable the “Shoot W/O Lens” option.

      With that enabled you can now shoot with ANYTHING as a lens!

      Happy Pinholing!

      Regards,
      Si

      Like

    1. Well, I can’t help you with that but I think the comments by Bruno are still valid and the video preview of Alan Harvey’s book and the other resources are too; worth checking out if you’re interested in making books.

      Thanks,
      Si

      Like

Leave a Reply

