Kodalithic

Kodak’s Kodalith film is a strange beast that’s taken a while to figure out but all it really needs is a lot of light and if it doesn’t get it you’ll know it.

Kodalith

I’ve been playing with it off and on since around March 2013, mostly off, when I won a bulk roll on eBay but so far I’ve loved it even when I didn’t get it right.

Kodalith

If it’s under exposed you see sharp highlights with harsh solid blacks but if you push it into the ISO6 range you see wonderful contrasty tones, tones that I love.

I highly recommend rating this film at ISO6 because you’re able to get some very soft tones with a contrasty edge.

KODALITH

When it comes to developing I don’t actually have any times in my head because it’s an ortho film, I watch it cook under a safelight and if it looks good (lots of ‘black bits’) I stop developing and fix it.

KODALITH

I’ve only been ‘cooking’ the film in Rodinal 1+25 which is my go-to film/dilution but I’m sure you’ll get great results from any developer with a modicum of experimenting.
 

Gallery
Here’s an assortment of new and old photos made with the Kodak Kodalith film. Some have a very high contrast look others are just contrasty with lots of tones but it’s all good fun and an excellent way to get a feel for a film.

Like I’ve said, the super high contrast frames will have been exposed at ISO12, the ‘fluffier’ frames will be around ISO6.

Kodalith

Kodalith

Kodalith

Kodalith Exposure Fails

Kodalith Fails

Kodalith Fail

Kodalith

Kodalith

Kodalith Fail

Kodalith

Kodalith

Kodalith Fails

Kodalith Fail

Kodalith

Kodalith

KODALITH

KODALITH

KODALITH

KODALITH

Bird

Dog in Car

Dog

Tree

Rodinal Test Strip

Rodinal Test Strip

KODALITH

Rodinal Test Strip

Kodalith Test

Kodalith Test

Kodalith Test

Kodalith Test

Film Photography

Not even #HomeImprovements can interrupt #devClub!  #believeinfilm

**Addendum**
I add this after a chat with JP I forgot to mention I’ve only ever scanned my Kodalith negatives, I haven’t tried to print any yet.

I’m way overdue for a visit to a working darkroom and I’ve got a lot of printing I’d like to do, especially colour printing, but I’ll dedicate a day to Kodalith and report back my findings on how different a scan looks from a final print. Kodalith can be quite tricky to scan so I’d like to see what it ‘really’ looks like in a print.
 

the end

2 thoughts on “Kodalithic

  1. Really cool results – many of those photos are wonderful! I was reading (trying to at least) Ansel Adams’ ‘The Negative’ and he mentioned Kodalith for scenes that would result in painfully low contrast with your average film. It would be interesting to actually search out very flat scenes with very little dynamic range and see what Kodalith can achieve!

    Like

    1. Y’know, I’ve got ‘The Negative’ but clearly I haven’t read much of it, I’m sure I’ll be reading up on Kodalith in the next few minutes so thanks for the tip. Maybe when I go to make a print rather than a scan I’ll see the contrast issues but scanning Kodalith can be difficult, exposed at ISO12 the scanner can have trouble with the tones so, a trip to Stills is definitely required.

      Thanks again JP!
      S

      Like

Leave a Reply

