HOLS 2014

Another year another book.

This time I made a quick and cheap holiday book using SnapFish’s 8×6 book, not 7×5 as I say in the video below. There was a deal going down that enabled me to get an 8×6 book with 50% off so I went for it.

The print quality wasn’t that great despite other SnapFish books looking pretty decent and the paper wasn’t great either but it only cost around £13 including postage for a 48 page book that is decent enough for a few memories.

Anyway, enough of that nonsense, here’s the video:


*Music by me recorded about 15 years ago on a Casio MT-50 4-Track*
 

… and here’s some photos.

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS
 

Horses
HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS
 

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS

HOLS
 

le fin

8 thoughts on “HOLS 2014

    1. Thanks JP. Because of the nature of how things work you don’t really know what it’ll look like until you’ve paid for it so there’s an element of risk every time, you can easily overlook things simply by looking at them too much. I should macro-photograph or scan the printed pages to show the print quality.

      I actually printed two and sent the second book to my folks who got it this morning, they were so happy to have something in their hand that reminded them of their time with Anna. Worth a go I’d say especially as gifts for grandparents and you’ve got so many wonderful family photos.

      Si

      Like

  1. It looks good from here! I’d stopped even considering photo books because they were so expensive. I’ll definitely look into this brand.

    The photos are fantastic – very well done sir.

    I should have guessed you were a film aficionado. I love film too. Portra does look very beautiful though. I detest scanning and one day I hope I can afford a semi decent one. It also means one has a chance of affording a good camera. Something out of my reach in the digital world. I’m dreaming of a Hasselblad 501cm. One reads of people picking them up for a song but none that I’ve found!

    Thank you for a super pose.

    Like

    1. Thank you Iamamro, you’re very kind.

      There are so many options available right now for personalised photobooks it’s like a revolution is happening in the print world. We have Flickr, SnapFish, Blurb, Huggler, TruPrint, Albelli to name just a few and so far I’ve used all but Truprint and Flickr (which is US only I think) from that list. I’d say Blurb offers the best most flexible design tools.

      At one point I had nearly 50 cameras with only 2 being digital and I’ve played with a large array of formats and sizes films and papers, it’s almost an infinite experience where you’re only limited by your imagination. Medium format is a special format, it’s still small-ish but big enough to give you gorgeous images.

      Good luck with your pursuit of a Hassleblad 501, I only hear good things about them. I briefly had a Bronica which is similar but it wasn’t working so good so I gave it to someone with better knowledge than I for fixing things and he now has it working well. Hassy’s are still quite expensive though, much like film Leicas, so again, good hunting.

      Regards,
      Si

      Like

        1. I’m sorry Iamamro, I don’t follow.

          If you’re worried about grammar, I wouldn’t. At this stage I believe the internet has decided that grammar doesn’t matter.
          :)

          Thanks,
          Si

          Like

Leave a Reply

