Olympus Mju 1

While down at the Edinburgh Meadows festival the other week I picked up an Olympus Mju 1 for the grand sum of £1. I knew they were decent cameras, or at least the Mju 2 was with it’s fast ƒ2.8 lens, so I ‘went crazy’ and bought it.

#olympus #mju1 #p&s for £1

I’ve now run 3 rolls through it with a fourth just started today and I’d easily say I’m mostly impressed with the little thing, it appears to meter quite well and feels good in the hand with good flash options.

EDI

EDI

MJU: Flying Turtle

The only real downside I have with it is the focusing, it doesn’t seem to want to focus through glass or any transparent material.

MJU

EDI

It doesn’t have lightening fast autofocus either but I never expected it to be, saying that though I’d liked it to have the Mju 2’s ability to have a half-press focus lock system.

MJU

EDI

EDI

The other negative is the viewfinder, it feels small or awkward for my eye. Because the camera is all black when I lift it to my eye I find the camera dancing all over my face like I’m either applying a face cream or self administering a comedy custard pie-splat just trying to find the vf.

MJU

EDI MJU

MJU

The camera takes DX coded film rated between ISO50 and ISO3200, that’s good enough for me since I’m mostly abusing my current film stocks at around ISO800 though I do have colour slide film rated ISO64.

MJU

MJU

I actually managed to miss-code my first roll in the camera to be around ISO50 instead of ISO800 so you can imagine how dense the negative was when I developed it as ISO800 film.

MJU

EDI

MJU

MJU

All in all I like this little bugger. It’s OK despite it’s siblings having all the best features but for £1 you really can’t complain too strongly.

MJU

MJU
 

Le Fin
 

AH! But another P&S challenger approaches (in the shape of an Olympus XA2) …

One thought on “Olympus Mju 1

Leave a Reply

