Gone In a Flash

Stumbling home with Anna early Tuesday evening I was aghast at the scene that unfolded before my eyes. My Diana F+ flash leaped off my FED3 and Lemming’d onto the street. I know the whole Lemming/suicide thing isn’t true but work with me OK?

Now I have to find a replacement or rather I now have to fall back on something I got along with my Trip 35. The National PE-2006.


Unlike every flash I’ve ever used this one appears to have 3 modes:
Red, Green and M for Manual.

Using a Neewer R72 filter with the Casio these flash modes look like this in a very dark room:

RED

Casio Exilim, IR converted with a Neewer R72 filter, ISO 80
5 metres from the wall
Flash is minimal and similar to the Diana F+

Green

Casio Exilim, IR converted with a Neewer R72 filter, ISO 80
5 metres from the wall
Flash is quite noticeable

Manual!

Casio Exilim, IR converted with a Neewer R72 filter, ISO 80
5 metres from the wall
Flash is almost blinding! Far too strong

My Conclusion is that I’ll probably use the Red mode when out with the IR camera controlling the light on the sensor using the ISO modes.

I’ll leave you with a few fond memories:

The End

Leave a Reply

