Kodak Kodamatic Special No.2C Autographic

"Kodakmatic No.2C" by Sibokk “Kodakmatic No.2C”, a photo by Sibokk on Flickr.

Part three of the Kodak Folder find and this guy does look very similar to the other two and sits nicely between them in size.

This camera takes 116 film (maybe) released roughly between 1916 to 1927 with and aperture between f6.3 – f45
and shutter speeds from T, B, 1/2, 1/5, 1/10, 1/25, 1/50, 1/100, 1/150

Here’s the Kodak trio with my first folder, a Zeiss Ikon Nettar 515/2. There’s something beautiful about a folding camera with bellows.

Anyway, my first run with the Kodamatic wasn’t great because I forgot to black out the rear number view window (even though I knew I had to and had done so with the huge No.3) but they were still interesting enough images (sort of).


The next round was slightly more successful …


But I was still having trouble guess-focusing and my choice of subject was a wee bit to ‘lively’.


Loading the film into this guy wasn’t too bad because I still had a spool not like with the No.3C (lost within minutes!).

I manufactured stilts using rawl plugs on the film roll to try and keep it centred and fed the film onto the existing spool. Pretty simple really.


 

Street Photography
Thinking back to the street photography meet up a few months ago I had this guy with me as part of my 25 camera pileup. Here’s a few odd multi-exposure shots from that day ….


I’m not entirely sure why there are so many double exposures, maybe I thought it didn’t fire. It could be I was speaking to someone and totally lost my concentration much like when I ruined 2 rolls of film in the Brownie. Still gutted!



Finally …. I let rip with a roll of that expired and now not so great Vericolor 3 (VPS) film I got on ebay. The film started off fine in the Mamiya Universal but the quality and evenness of grain has dropped drastically.

Anyway, it didn’t bode well when the backing paper got stuck and I ripped it in two. After a quick fix in the dark bag I was back on the road.


Once I was rinsing post developing I started to unravel the roll off the spindle and it looked blank. I was furious until a little stretch later I started to see images. The bastard roll had somehow gotten stuck mid turn and all bar 1 frame all the images were glued together (click image below for larger version).


 
In Summary
The bellows feel pretty tidy on this guy and the shutter is really clean. These cameras are probably better as landscape or portrait cameras requiring little to no movement from their subjects!

I’m buggering off up north to a friends wedding so I might return with a Dolph Lungren of photos to develop/post.

3 thoughts on “Kodak Kodamatic Special No.2C Autographic

  1. You got some good and interesting results here.

    Sometimes I see expired 116 (and 122 even) film on eBay. Verichrome Pan is said to do well even 25 years post expiration. Hmm…..

    Like

    1. I guess its all down to the developing. Not too long ago I shot and developed 2 Ilford rolls that expired in 1958 and 1959 respectively. I used ID11 with no stop agent and lots of water.

      They came out but were quite foggy. I’ve read adding bromide or something like that to the developer helps combat fogging. HC110 is supposed to be good for old stock too.

      Another blog post I’m afraid:

      https://streetlifeedinburgh.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/1950s-a-good-decade-for-ilford-film/

      Like

      1. The reason why I mention Verichrome Pan is that it has a good reputation for good results without any extra effort in development. I’ve not heard the same about other films!

        Like

Leave a Reply

