Edinburgh Street Photography Experiments – Part 2

Welcome to part 2.



Welcome to the place where I struggle to find themes in my photos.

I’ve been reading lots of tweets from good photographers I follow that tweet links to articles about the importance of themes or recognising themes when making sense of your photos.



I’ve been taking a lot of candid portraits recently, could that can be one of my themes? Maybe it’s too simplistic.



One thing I’d like to be able to do is incorporate my interest of angles and lines into this street/urban photography. This is something I could work on thought it could be difficult.

More of this (below), with the framing of the back wall and the yellow container sandwiched between the dark side walls.

Here the framing with the yellow border at the top and again with the space to the right of the bus shelter and with the bus shelter itself. The photo was from my car and a total guess taken with the Casio Exilim with the stripped out IR filter. Not a good camera for accuracy.

This image is that rarity of the unusual or peculiar, that moment when the unexpected happens. I made a complete arse of it because I hesitated but this is what I need to find though I won’t find it unless I’m out specifically looking for that every day.

Incident number 2
As I said in my last post I had an unhappy customer but moving on to incident number 2. I was at home one Saturday afternoon when I heard a loud speaker and shouting coming from down the street, I immediately grabbed my FED 3 and ran down to see what was going on.

I was surprised to to see a BNP protest outside an SNP office with a very small police presence overlooking the situation (this turned out to be a wrong guess as a van with approximately 8 to 10 other officers were hidden round the corner). I’m not sure what they were protesting about but I believe it was immigrants and maybe the Iraq war but I wasn’t really paying attention.

I crossed the road to take the first photo (above) and noticed my presence wasn’t particularly appreciated despite numerous other people taking photos though it turned out they were members of the group. I moved back across the road and took another then one of the serving policeman.


I found it very odd that they’d choose to present themselves there as there are a few Asian families and businesses in the area but maybe they were from down south and didn’t know the area they were preaching to or maybe they did.

Anyway, the negative experience. When I returned home I found this man (below) take a photo of the building I live in then found myself wondering why.

I went on to discuss this in the Flickr threads on the photos I took of the demonstration or protest, whichever it was, and the conclusions were thus:

  • If they felt their demonstration was representing a respectable organisation then they should have simply appreciated my interest.
  • It was a public demonstration that begged for attention but when they got it they didn’t like it which meant it may have purely been a ‘performance’ for their own publicity material and served no purpose beyond that.

I believe the photographing of where I lived was an attempt to intimidate me so I made sure to go out with my family to walk through the protest and see if the guy who too the photograph would look me in the eye. He didn’t. I was open, why wasn’t he?

Anyway, on with the show and tell.



I’ll roll out with the side b of images from the street photography I’ve been experimenting with of late








This last image (above) was taken with a camera made in 1914 but more on that soon.

The end for now

2 thoughts on “Edinburgh Street Photography Experiments – Part 2

  1. Good posts about your struggles with street photography. I’ve had similar struggles, and have not had much success, mostly due to not wanting to get too close to people and call attention to myself. I too have decided that what you call “urban photography” instead of “street photography” is better for me. You did end up with some good results, though. And remember what a photography teacher once told me — if you can get one good image that you’d hang on your wall from a roll of film, you’re doing great!

    Like

    1. Hi Rick. I believe that in order to be a good street photographer you have to have a certain killer instinct that I don’t think I have. Saying that though, I believe shooting during festivals seems to be a bit different as I think people are a little more relaxed in that kind of atmosphere.

      I had a quick look at your blog, you have a range of beautiful photos and cameras (and one from the FPP guys too). I notice you have some early Kodak cameras like the Autographics, I’ve recently acquired 3 different models ranging from 166 to 122 sized film.

      Thanks,
      Si

      Like

Leave a Reply

