Trees Near and Far, Titan Pinhole – Fomapan 200

Camera: Ilford Titan Pinhole Camera
Film: Fomapan 200
Developed in ID11 (Stock) for 6 minutes

For my birthday last month I bought a box of Fomapan 200, 50 sheets, for €30 from www.fomafoto.com.

I ordered it on my birthday, it was despatched the next day and arrived barely a week later from Oslo, Norway. That’s quicker than some domestic suppliers.

I’ve only shot and developed two sheets so far so this is purely on first impressions.

Either the film either suffers reciprocity issues or I underexposed and/or under developed.

The leaflet that came with the film said 5-6 minutes at 20º for ID11/D76 stock and I chose 6 minutes.

Each exposure was for 20 seconds with a pinhole rated at f206 on a slightly overcast early morning but nothing a 200 rated film would have trouble with. Still, they looked a little underexposed.

Let me make this clear: I’m not terribly cut up about it, they look fine enough to print from and I’d read about possible reciprocity problems or variations in quality with the film. I like that could be a little random. It makes it fun.

I’ll shoot a couple through the Crown Graphic this weekend to get a better picture.

Still, €30 or £25 for 50 5×4 sheets of any film including postage in about a week is amazing.

6 thoughts on “Trees Near and Far, Titan Pinhole – Fomapan 200

    1. I’ve got an unopened pack of Ilford paper negative still to use and I have about 3 shots on Direct Positive paper still to develop.

      Not until fairly recently did I have a paper developer to develop them with so maybe tonight or tomorrow I’ll get going with it.

      The 4×5 are being dropped into a Paterson tank taco style which is OK but I do occasionally get artifacts at the edges where the film has slipped into cracks and not been developed properly.

      I like the look of the Paterson 4×5 holder for the 3 reel tank, you can get 6 sheets of 4×5 in there but it’s pricey at around £45 where I’ve seen it on sale. I will buy one but not until I sell some camera gear to pay for it.

      Like

  1. That’s about 50p per shot, which I think is very good value for 4×5 film. Have you checked the datasheet for reciprocity failure adjustments?

    I can relate to your lecture hall example. I left a piece of Multigrade paper in my Zero 2000 for almost 2 hours in a well lit kitchen. The result was a couple of small dots where it had picked up the spotlights and nothing more. I only shoot onto paper in daylight now.

    What method are you using for developing 4×5 film now?

    Like

    1. I haven’t checked the data sheet yet. I just assumed it’d be fine from other experiences with other films, in fact I thought I’d maybe overexposed it.

      I’ll be all over that data sheet for the next long exposure I do that’s for certain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

