Edinburgh Zeiss

The Zeiss Ikon Nettar is one of those cameras that you just can’t help loving. It looks so old, because it is, and it feels very nice to handle. It smells a wee bit foosty (or is it fooshty?) and the film advance crank squeaks when turned but it sure can take a picture for a camera designed and released around 1935-1937. Film used: Kodak Ektachrome 160T Colour Reversal.

I decided to have this roll processed as slides (using E6) since it is slide film. Normally I process these at home in my C-41 kit but since I don’t have one at the moment … anyway this is the first time I’ve seen my photos as slides and they looked magical. I think I’ll get more slide film developed using E6 in future.



Most of the landscape shots were done early morning with minimal light and thus look more blue than the others. They were also taken alongside other cameras posted elsewhere so the angles will look very similar.

Here are some daylight shots. The only problem – no, difficulty – with this camera is focussing. It’s a viewfinder camera with the lens elements/shutter control at the end of the bellows so its not as easy to modify focus like with an Olympus Trip 35 for instance:


I’m still in love with it.

Leave a Reply

