1958, Selochrome

As part of my marathon B&W developing assault I added to the mix a roll of Ilford Selochrome 127 film that expired in 1958.


Developing this was always going to be messy since the emulsion felt a tad crusty. Unraveling the paper backing I could hear crumbling dry fragments of glue or maybe the emulsion itself flake away. My hopes were low.

It was a wee bit tricky to initially load the film onto the spindle, in the end I took the corner edges off one end which helped ease the thin paper like film onto the spindle and once started it was easy work.

I followed the Ilford Delta 100 plan with the developing times, 8m 30s in stock ID11 and 5m in Rapid Fixer 1+4 all at 20º, and rinsed it thoroughly in water.

Mat Marrash from FPP recommended I use some ‘Benzotriazole’ to help remove fogy-ness but since I had no idea where to even start looking for that I left it out, perhaps to the negatives detriment.

If anyone knows where the hell I’d get Benzotriazole in the UK please let me know!

I was surprised to see anything on the negative, most of it was just a grainy fog but I managed to get a few images from it.



I just wish I actually photographed something bloody well interesting!

I have a roll of 35mm Ilford film from 1959 to develop so hopefully I’ll have something more interesting in that roll.

4 thoughts on “1958, Selochrome

  1. I’m on to your dastardly plan to get me to read your entire blog archive.

    Sure, these images aren’t technically very good. But the look is interesting!

    Like

    1. jeez, it looks that way doesn’t it?! ha!
      I don’t think I’ll be actively seeking out any old stocks especially after a batch of Vericolor 3 that only expired in the 1980s. They mostly looked horrible.

      Don’t worry, no links this time!

      Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

