A-Hoya There!

A few months ago I bought a large box full of cameras and accessories, mostly crappy P&S plastic 35mm cameras but the odd gem here and there. There was a a couple of Halina cameras and and the Bencini Koroll 2 but also a few Coki and Hoya lens filters.

I finally got round to having a look at the Hoya filters to see if I had any cameras they would fit, my GF1 Panasonic Lumix lenses turned out to be just perfect.

As anyone who reads my photography blog knows – I know very little about photography/photography products just learning as I go so I had to checkout Hoya’s webshite to see what these filters do. I recognised the Polariser but I didn’t know what the +1 to +4 or Skylight did.

The Skylight simply adds warmth to your scene by reducing the amount of blue getting to your film or sensor.

Hoya’s website said +1 to +4 filters increased depth of field but I noticed with the +4 I was able to take some really close photos almost like macro.

Without the +4 – this was as close as I got, 14mm at around 30cm:

With the +4 – using 14mm mode I was about 10-15cm away:

One thought on “A-Hoya There!

Leave a Reply

