Loading 35mm Film Backwards

I foolishly only used a 12 exposure roll to do this and managed to just get three barely intelligible shots but I’d decided to try out shooting film backwards. By backwards I mean loading the 35mm roll upside down which makes you shoot through the back of the film not directly onto the emulsion. It’s supposed to create a red-scale effect. To confirm … yes, it does.

I tried to load the film backwards into the FED 3 then the Zorki but I was’t convinced it was sitting right so in the end I opted for the Pentax. By then I’d reduced the available shots to four (three really).

You definitely need more light than normal to get a decently exposed shot. I used flash for all of these images and and they’re still dark.





One thought on “Loading 35mm Film Backwards

Leave a Reply

