Caffenol B/W Developer

Thanks to Colin for the link to the video below. This is a ‘how to’ for developing black and white shots using instant coffee, vitamin C powder and ‘washing soda’ or bicarbonate of soda. I’ve heard the term used but had no idea what it was. I’ll definitely be giving this a go, I’ve got a few black and white 120 rolls to develop and expose, I’ll post the results once I get my developer canisters from Calumet and some fixative.

Ingredients:

Instant coffee (not decaf)
Vitamin powder
Washing soda (I think this means Bicarbonate of Soda)
Fixative, the only photographic specific chemical
Washing up liquid but that’s purely optional, and it’s not been as effective as people say but I’m probably using it wrongly!

Leave a Reply

