FED 3 First Run

I’ve taken about 25 or so photos with the FED 3 loaded with a roll of Ilford 100 Black & White and probably the cheapest variety too.

They’re pretty varied in focal length but the light has been pretty poor this morning mixed with spots of rain so everything has been shot with the widest aperture setting.

I started off trying to shoot with a shutter speed of 250 but the aperture was often not wide enough so I eventually dropped to 125 to meet the maximum aperture width then down to 60 in some occasions. Aperture was largely between 2.8 and 3.4, I know there’s a ‘cool’ or correct way of saying this but … I’m not familiar enough with the terminology yet.

I mainly used my iPhone app to get the aperture settings and to be honest I’m not sure if I could even get close to guessing them at this stage.

One example of aperture difference I’m looking forward to (if the film is even exposed correctly) is a couple of shots of an abandoned carry case seen below taken with my iPhone:

Taken with Hipstamatic on an iPhone

Taken with Hipstamatic on an iPhone

I shot the carry case first with overcast light around 2.8 at 1/125 then again when the sun finally made an appearance which then made it 4 at 1/125. It’ll be interesting to see how different they are.

Anyway, 10 or so shots to go (uncertain since the recording dial has been nudged too many times) then off to Hairy Jessops with them!

Leave a Reply

