More Books

As I’ve blogged about in the past I enjoy making books, figuring them out, and generally looking at images to sequence in a book.

Photo Book

I’ve made about 7 books now and here’s a quick run down …

The first was a photo-book of just photos of my daughter from birth to 3 years as a Christmas gift to my parents using SnapFish.

Anna photo book
 

Then a test 6×4 collection of street photos to carry with me when photographing if people are curious about what I’m doing.

The Mini-Book
 

Then a test Blurb book purely for quality testing purposes

My first #Blurb test book. Keen to see what's inside but holding back until I get home (or on the bus home).
 

The fourth was similarly minded Blurb book about claustrophobic street photography at night.

Photo Book, Part 2
 

The fifth was another Blurb book about my holiday with family in Pittenweem called HOLS

Screen Shots
 

… the sixth was a Blurb magazine test print with photos of my daughters 4th birthday, post still to come …

Blurb Magazine
 

… and the seventh was a book celebrating my wife’s 40th birthday via SnapFish.

Snapfish Book Screen Grabs
 

SnapFish
I often feel SnapFish are the like McDonalds of self publishing with their offer of cheap but, I think, perfectly reasonable prints that are excellent for proofing and sequencing.

A few of my photographer friends have sort of scoffed at SnapFish but I think they offer a decent service for the quality they offer.

makeprints believeinprints photographs pictures

SnapFish has a very consumer feeling tool. It offers a basic web-based book building service that’s a bit clunky and though they have horrible embellishment options no-one would ever use you have much more control over the design than you may at first think.

More Photographs

When ordering hundreds of 6×4 prints from SnapFish via Flickr I saw they were offering some incredible discounts on their books. It was my daughters cousins birthday a few weeks ago so I decided to pull together a wee book to celebrate the event.

They offered a 70% discount on their 12″ x 12″ hardback books reducing a 20 page book from £39.99 to £12. I quickly constructed a simple book and bought two of them, one for me and one for them.

Snapfish Book Screen Grabs

FAM

ZOR

It was difficult to choose just under 20 images from around a hundred I liked but that’s the sacrifice you have to make.
 

Vino de Plonko
After a few wines I made another book, this one was a 6×4 open flat book on a theme of mortality and place, all in black and white, that cost around £4 to make.

Snapfish Book Screen Grabs

Snapfish Book Screen Grabs

EDI

EDI
 

The obsession with books doesn’t stop there! I’ve been buying real books by real photographers too, below is a list of new-to-me books that are on their way:

After The Off” – Photos by Bruce Gilden in rural Ireland: £20

Anders Peterson, Photofile – a collection of photos: £9.95 (you can get it for about £4 now on Amazon Market Place)

Bruce Gilden, Photofile – I think Martin has this one: £6.87 (you can get it for about £4 now on Amazon Market Place).

Eyemazing: New Collectable Photography – a curated book of weird photos: £35
 

That’s all for now …

le fin

4 thoughts on “More Books

      1. It’s nice enough. I wasn’t blown over, but it didn’t seem cheap, either. I wish they had more options for text in the book — you get one line of text on the cover, and that’s it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

