POUND-LAND!

MIR 9

My love for Poundland is increasing rapidly and not just for it’s lovely affordable Agfa Color film … but for everything.

In My Bag

You can get all sorts of stuff there from glue and blades to sealant funnels and tape – just what you need to fix up a badly made ultra large format camera …

Untitled

But, yeah, I mostly love Poundland for the film and what you can do to it!

HOR

HOR

You can do colour stuff with it, kinda what it’s made for, and develop it with standard developing procedures in C41, in this case Tetenal’s 3 bath kit.

Zorki'd

Zorki'd

Zorki'd

Zorki'd

or you can take that film outside and kick it’s ass in Rodinal!

MIR 5

MIR 5B

Horizont

Horizont

Horizont

I mean REALLY kick it’s arse all over town …

Horizont

Horizont

Horizont

People often worry about finding a signature look or style – I think I’ve found mine.

Horizont

What I’ve been doing is metering the native ISO200 film at around ISO1600 then develop the roll in Rodinal for 20 minutes with a 1+25 dilution (used to be 1+50), for 1L add 38ml of Rodinal plus 962ml of water, then agitate regularly.

Horizont

Horizont

This morning when I looked at the images I’d developed last night (pictured below) I discovered the Miranda’s light meter was completely unreliable, rather than just unreliable. I found I had grossly underexposed most frames despite pushing the development about 5 minutes over the 20 minute mark.

With this film, if you push it just that little bit too far you can sort of Man Ray style polarise the film.

It’ll be difficult to print these negatives because they almost come out as a positive so I’ll have to print them then contact print them; any shaded areas are inverted.

First scan …
MIR 7

Inverted image …
MIR 7B

Once I get my darkroom setup in my loft I’ll hopefully be able to start making prints!!!

ZOR

ZOR

ZOR

EDI

EDI

EDI
 

This was supposed to be a quick post so until next time …
 

Le Fin!
 

- PS, if you have any questions about processing the film just ask in the comments.

One thought on “POUND-LAND!

Leave a Reply

